Mia Mum Profile

Local Mum Feature – Mia Johnson

This week’s local mum feature is me – Mia from Mums of the Shire.
I thought it was about time I put myself out there and share my mummy life with you. I hope you enjoy reading my local mum feature as much as I have enjoyed reading all the other amazing mummy stories so far.

Where and how long have you lived in the Sutherland Shire?

I’ve lived in the Shire most of my life and I currently live in the same street I grew up in, in Cronulla. I’ve been here, there and everywhere but I never forget where home is. You really can’t beat Cronulla.

How many children:

My first bubba I lost at 19 weeks. It was a very hard thing to go through and my heart goes out to all the other mummas who have been through similar heartache but please don’t feel sorry for me. I feel so happy and so grateful to have two happy and healthy kids.

Tilly is 3.5, wild, crazy, smart and beautiful. Sometimes I wish she was a little less of an ice queen and a little more cuddly but she sure makes up for it in laughs.

Darcy is 1.5, usually quite serious but also pretty crazy at times. He is rough, he loves to dance and he is so full of love & cuddles & kisses, he makes my heart burst. He makes me want to have more babies but I fear for my sanity if I do.

Favourite park:

We don’t really have a favourite park. We like getting out for a walk in the pram in the mornings so we usually go to one of the parks in Cronulla and occasionally drive to Castelnau Park in Caringbah for something different.

Favourite thing to do with the kids:

When it’s warm and sunny you’ll find us at the beach. It’s only a few minutes walk to Wanda beach so that’s usually the spot for us. We don’t often feel the need to leave Cronulla as we are pretty spoilt here (Cronulla snobs, I know!) but on the weekends we have been making an effort to venture out and explore different parts of the Shire, day trip down the Coast or head to the Eastern Suburbs where my hubby’s family are.

Favourite kid friendly cafe:

I’m still trying to discover a good one that is close by. Because we like walking we tend to stay around Cronulla and honestly there is not many to choose from. As I said our kids are crazy, they like to run so somewhere where there is a bit of grass is important to us. Wanderers Cafe at Wanda, Lemon Petter on Monro Park and if we are driving The Laneway and Hazlehurst is where we’ll head.

Favourite local date night spot:

Alphabet Street and Henry’s are our faves by far.

Favourite local shop / online store:

My favourite local shop is Mrs Watsons. She appears way too often on our credit card bill ?

Favourite baby product.

Aden and Anais security blankets. Both my kids are in love with their comforters. I am too, because they are small, breathable, machine washable and an amazing sleep cue. Ohhhh sleep, how I love you….

Guilty pleasure:

Red wine and dark chocolate.

What makes you loose your shit?

When someone I love lies to me.
Last time my husband lied to me (and it wasn’t even about anything that serious) I told him that I thought he should move out. And I was deadly serious. I was pregnant and highly emotional at the time (but I’m sure that had nothing to do with it, haha).

Work or SAHM:

I work part time from home/the park. I run a small postnatal fitness business (Core-Fitness) which is currently funding my Mums of the Shire venture. I spend a few mornings a week running my mums and bubs classes and fit in all the planning, admin and Mums of the Shire business whenever I can (usually when the kids are sleeping). I’m so passionate about, and have huge plans for both business – it’s just finding the time to fit it all in..

Motherly advice on how to stay sane:

Take time for yourself. Don’t try to be a ‘perfect’ mum. Don’t compare yourself to others. Remind yourself that you are an amazing mother. And if none of that works – just remember there are way worst mothers than you! ?

xox


Ok, now your turn. Please share your local #mumlife with us..

If you would like to feature as our next ‘Local Mum’ we would love to hear from you! Please tell us about yourself here.

2 Comments
  • Anonymous
    Posted at 20:11h, 15 June

    Beautiful Mia love to you all xx??

  • Heather christie
    Posted at 23:08h, 08 July

    Hi im a woronora mum of 2 crazy boys. I live a particularly alternate lifestyle in a house on the river with no road access. Yes you read that right. I have to get a boat to the wharf then walk to my car or walk along a bush track for about 15 mins to the nearest road. Both my husband and boys are typical men… whatever that means… cars dirt boats fart jokes. I work 3 days a week as a landscape architect and barely keep my head above water raising my overly energetic boys aswell as all the other crap that comes with being an adult. Btw im really over paw patrol but could tell you 5 great kid friendly weekend activities or 5 great kid friendly holidays.

Post A Comment