Local Mum – Katelyn Coulton

Where and how long have you lived in the Sutherland Shire?

I’ve lived in Engadine all my life. From my family home with my mum, dad, brother and sister to the house I bought with my husband just over a year ago also in Engadine.

Tell us about yourself and your family:

I’ve lived in the Shire all my life. I met my husband when we were 17 and we have been together for 11 years. We got married in 2015 and bought our first house just over a year ago. I’ve worked as a childcare teacher for over 10 years and this year we welcomed our beautiful son Ollie into the world. The last four months have just flown by and full of surprises with our little man.

What does a typical day look like for you?

Ollie and I get up, we have breakfast together and we spend some time playing. Theres usually a bit of tummy time before I do some housework while Ollie has his morning nap. Sometimes we go to the gym in the morning or we wait until my husband finishes work and we all go together. If the weather is nice we will go for a walk and Ollie usually loves a nap in the pram. Some days we will catch up with friends for coffee or spend the day with my my mum when she’s not working. We are usually home in the afternoon where we decide what’s for dinner. My husband is a self employed builder and he’s often home to help out with Ollie in the afternoon. He loves his dad bathing him. Then it’s wind down time for all of us with stories, cuddles and off to bed.

Favourite thing to do with your bubs/kiddies:

Walking along the esplanade at Cronulla, reading books and playing games together, Sunday family day too.

Favourite kid friendly cafe:

Next Door Cronulla

Favourite restaurant or favourite night-spot:

Sealevel, Hugh John Manor and Royal Motor Yacht Club Woolooware.

Favourite wet weather location:

Home ? especially when it’s cold outside and we have nowhere to be.

Work or SAHM (Stay at Home Mum):

SAHM

Motherly advice on how to stay sane:

Get out of the house everyday even if it’s just for a walk around the block and ask for help when you need it. Don’t be afraid to let your husband do things even if it’s not how you do it.

Funny mum moment:

Always losing things and finding them in odd spots.

What is your guilty pleasure?

Lollies and a glass of red one on the weekend.

What makes you loose your shit?

When Ollie poops, wees or vomits all through his clothes just before we are about to go out. He always has bad timing with that!

What’s something not many people know about you?

I probably don’t have it together as much as I make out.

Favourite local shop/online store or Instagram business:

Seed Heritage, Kmart and too many Instagram businesses to name.

What’s the best product/service you can recommend since becoming a mum? (for baby/kids or you)

An Ergo baby pouch and a rocking cradle as well as the local nurse at the chemist – she has been an absolute lifesaver for me.

How have you changed since becoming a mum?

I’m probably a little more anxious than I was before having Ollie. I just want to be the best mum I can but it’s all a big learning curve and everyday is different.

What is the greatest challenge you have faced since becoming a mum?

Time management, balancing quality time with the family and keeping the house in order.


Would you like to share your local #mumlife with us like Katelyn has?

If you would like to feature as our next ‘Local Mum’ we would love to hear from you! Please tell us about yourself here.

No Comments

Post A Comment