Local Mum – Keira Da Vanzo

Where and how long have you lived in the Sutherland Shire?

Shire born and bred – 32 years.

Tell us about yourself and your family:

I’m a super active Mum who loves being outdoors. You’ll often see me walking anywhere and everywhere around the Shire where it’s possible to push a pram with my beautiful 4 month old daughter Ava.

What does a typical day look like for you?

We don’t really have a typical day. Ava is the boss so we go with the flow but we aim to get a walk in at some point, a visit with Grandma (my Mum) who lives around the corner and when Ava has a midday nap I get on the computer and catch up on some admin and session planning.

Favourite park:

Como Pleasure Grounds. It’s got it all going on; great cafe and views of the river, nice walk over the bridge and when Ava is old enough a great little playground.

Favourite thing to do with your bubs/kiddies:

Laying out in the sun, nappy off and having a chat, long walks and we love our weekly mothers group catch ups.

Favourite kid friendly cafe:

Once a week I meet with some girlfriends and their kids at Cafe Y in Menai because it’s right next to a big grassed area where the kids can run around and play.

Favourite restaurant or favourite night-spot:

Henrys, Sealevel, Cronulla RSL. I’m corn fritter obsessed and I’ve found the best at Bianchini’s, Gymea or Indigo in Double Bay.

Favourite Mothers Group location:

We alternate each week between meeting at Menai Park and meeting somewhere for a walk.

Favourite wet weather location:

Home

Work or SAHM (Stay at Home Mum):

I run my own personal and group training business called KDV Fitness. I run 2 x weekly Mums + Bubs classes in Menai and your normal bootcamp style outdoor group training sessions on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday nights at The Ridge and Saturday mornings around the Shire. You can check us out on Facebook here.

Motherly advice on how to stay sane:

If we’ve had a particularly bad day or a sleepless night I just tell myself that the sun will come up tomorrow, it’s a new day. And, get out of the house, breathe some fresh air. It makes the world of difference.

Funny mum moment:

It’s interesting the silly things you do when you’re sleep deprived. The other week I put a dirty nappy in the fridge.

What is your guilty pleasure?

Chocolate! All the chocolate! Cheese and a glass of red wine.

What makes you lose your shit?

When the person who parks next to me in a carpark is so close that I can’t open the door far enough to get the capsule out.

What’s something not many people know about you?

I probably don’t have it together as much as I make out.

Favourite local shop/online store or Instagram business:

Kmart! Kmart all day! I swear I look around my house every day trying to find an excuse to go there. For all things girly Chichi+CoCo and for the cutest leather moccasins for babies you can’t go past Mocked. You can find them both on Facebook and Instagram.

What’s the best product/service you can recommend since becoming a mum? (for baby/kids or you)

I’m obsessed with my Chekoh baby wrap. Ava was born pretty tiny so I haven’t been able to use normal carriers, the wrap is perfect because it keeps her super snug and close to my chest and it’s really comfortable for me. Having free hands to get stuff done is a godsend.

Ewan the Dream Sheep for white noise to put Ava to sleep.

Mothers Group has been awesome, the support each week is fabulous and I’m very lucky to have a lovely group of Mums.

Baby Sensory classes have been fun for both Ava and I, great for her development and taught me a bunch of things that I can do at home to keep her entertained.

How have you changed since becoming a mum?

Before becoming a Mum I was super organised, some would say a little OCD, I was never late for anything and I was very clean and tidy. Well that all went out the window when Ava came along but I’m ok with it. It’s taken me a while but I’ve embraced it. I feel like I have a pretty good excuse now.

What is the greatest challenge you have faced since becoming a mum?

Finding enough hours in the day.

 

     


Would you like to share your local #mumlife with us like Keira has?

If you would like to feature as our next ‘Local Mum’ we would love to hear from you! Please tell us about yourself here.

4 Comments
  • Melissa Driscoll
    Posted at 07:29h, 17 September

    Mum to two gorgeous babes (4 and 5 months) . Event manager/producer extradionaire. Adore watching my two babes bond.

  • Fiona Cain
    Posted at 20:43h, 18 September

    Hi there, I’d love to be a feature Mum on your page! I am 38 years old with 3 boys aged 6, 12 &14. My oldest has kidney disease & will need a transplant in approx 3 years time. I have a charity named the Cain Foundation for Branchio-oto-renal syndrome. I am shire born & bred. I have just started my own Sutherland Shire based business named Gran Nannies Babysitting & Nanny Agency. We provide families with mature aged women who want to still be part of the workforce and earn a living whilst being social. Gran Nannies are simply Mums with frosting! I hope you will consider me as a feature Mum.

  • Mia Johnson
    Mia Johnson
    Posted at 14:21h, 20 September

    Hi Melissa, we would love to hear from you if you would like to feature with us. Email mia@mumsoftheshire.com.au xx

  • Mia Johnson
    Mia Johnson
    Posted at 14:21h, 20 September

    We would LOVE to feature you xx

Post A Comment